Eyes Wide…Closed While I Walk

Standard

This year I’m playing netball on weekends and most of my games are at 9am. Which means I need to be up at 7am and out the door by 8am to get there on time. Now, I’m not a morning person, so 7am is a bit of a challenge. Especially since I don’t live at home anymore where my mom will hassle me until I get my lazy ass out of bed. Instead of being forced out of bed, my alarm clock went off at 6:45am this morning and I shut it off, thinking that I hit the snooze button.

I woke up at 7:32 and needed to be on a bus by 7:59.

I missed my bus and had to walk to the nearest train station. Except I was running late so I cut through the people’s yard who live behind my house (they’re kids are always hopping the fence into my yard, so I figure we’re even) and jog to the station if I wanted to be on time for my game.

You’d think I’d have woken up by this point, but I’m really not a morning person so as soon as I got on the train I fell asleep again. I asked a lady who was going to the stop before mine to wake me up before she got off the train. I got to nap for 15 minutes, I should be awake by now right?

Nope.

The walk from the train station to the gym where I play is pretty much a straight walk so I walked/stumbled most of the way there with my eyes closed…because, ya know, that totally counts as sleeping too.

I only opened my eyes because a guy tapped me on my shoulder and asked me if I was ok. With only one eye open I mumbled that I was fun and stumbled on my sleep way to my game. He probably thought I was drunk.

What do you do for extra sleep?

 

Leave a Reply

