What are you doing?

Standard

Today I was supposed to meet up with a friend to go for a walk, but she wound up being nearly 15 minutes late. So out of boredom I collected a pile of rocks and started throwing them against the school wall I was meeting my friend at. She found me tossing rocks against a wall.

Her: What are you doing?

Me: Playing catch with my shadow.

Her: Excuse me?

Me: Exactly that. I’m playing catch with my shadow.

Her: But how?

Me: Like this!

And then I threw another rock against the wall. It bounced a few feet off the wall before it landed and bounce around on the ground a few times. My friend gave me that look people give other people when they think they’re crazy. It’s that look where the person has raised eyebrows, eyes wondering what’s wrong with you, and they’re  leaning away slightly.

Me: Don’t look at me like that. My shadow is clearly not the athlete that I am.

Her: Sometimes I wonder why people let you outside unsupervised.

Me: Probably because I’m more likely to start fires indoors than I am outdoors. It’s very damp out here.

Her: Girl, you have issues.

Me: Yes, but that’s the nice thing about my shadow. I can work those issues out with her by playing catch. I can throw things at it as hard as I can and she never complains.

Her: Throw things at her?

Me: Yes. I call her Pavlovia.

Her: Let’s just go get coffee.

Me: Ok, but let me just finish this round of rocks off.

 

Leave a Reply

