Weeee!!!

Standard

WomanscooterI got to witness one of the most encouraging and inspiring moments that I’ve seen in a long time tonight. It happened while I was walking home from the SkyTrain Station. As I was walking I saw a shadow from the corner of my eye coming up behind me. It was moving quickly, so I stepped to the side just in time for this little old lady to zip past me on her scooter. 

I had my headphones in, but my music was on low so I could hear her humming to herself as she zipped up the sidewalk. Curious, I started to walk a little faster to keep up with her. I wanted to hear what she was humming, and even took my headphones out so I could hear her better. She was humming “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” as she scooted along. 

The humming was sweet, but the best moment of all happened when we came up to an empty driveway. As we came up to the driveway, she sped up. I slowed down because I thought I might be freaking her out walking so close to her. However, that wasn’t it. As she got closer to the driveway she went faster and faster. I imagine by the time she got to the driveway, she was going as fast as that scooter could go. That’s what’s it looked like anyway. 

Then in the middle of her humming, she sped in to the driveway and whipped a fast circle with her scooter. As she was speeding in a circle I heard her scream, “WEEEEEEEEEE!” 

I stopped in my tracks. All I could do was smile as she pulled out of driving in her circle and carried on her way, humming happily. 

I stayed where I was and watched and she rode her scooter off into the night, humming to herself. I stood there and thought to myself how freaking awesome this lady was. I don’t know how old she was, but she was in in her late sixties. Her face was pale in the night and was covered in wrinkles. She was balding from what I saw. She was old, but she was still having fun. 

Why was this inspiring and encouraging? This lady took the time, even though what she did only lasted a few seconds, to have fun. To so something that brought her joy. No matter what was going on in her life, she took the time to do something to make herself smile. So I did the same. I threw my hands up in the air, and spun a fast circle and yelled “WEEEEE!” at the top of my lungs before I carried on with my walk home. 

Leave a Reply

