The Reading List

Standard

StephenKing-ChristineSomething that I want to do this year is to diversify what I read. Normally if I get any spare time I curl up with something having to do with paranormal romance and read it cover to cover in one sitting. It’s great. It’s like meditating except with lots and lots of words and a story to focus on. If I’m not reading something romantical then I’m reading something like what Hunter S. Thompson writes, or I’m rereading “John Dies at the End” by David Wong. And maybe sometimes I actually read my required readings for school, if I think that it’s actually relevant for doing well in the course.

So this year, I’m trying to read “other stuff”. I’m not sure what that other stuff is, so I’m going to start with some picks from The Rory Gilmore Reading Challenge. Then I’ll toss in a book or two that I think are worth reading again. Then…maybe I’ll just read the Harry Potter Series again because I haven’t read that series in over a year. After that, maybe I should read a cooking book so I can practice not setting fire to my home and food.

With all that said, this is my list so far:

  1. Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell – I’ve seen the movie a thousand times, maybe I should read the book?
  2. Please Kill Me: The Uncensored Oral History of Punk by Legs McNeil – It looks like it could be interesting. Hopefully.
  3. Christine by Stephen King – I’ve always wanted to read this one, but have never gotten around to it
  4. Europe Through the Back Door by Rick Steves – Heh. Dirty.
  5. The Last Living Slut by Roxana Shirazi – It was good the first time around, so why not read it again?
  6. The Little Black Apron: A Single Girl’s Guide to Cooking with Style and Grace by Jodi Citrin – It might help me stop setting pancakes on fire.
  7. Ignited by Kaylea Cross – She’s Canadian and and I want to read something Canadian and while this isn’t out of my usual reading habits, she’s a new author. So this book is on the list.
  8. Vigilante by Claude Bouchard – He’s Canadian too! And I normally wouldn’t read what he writes, so he’s on the list too!

That’s it. My goal is to read 12 books, so I’m open to recommendations. I figure if I can read a book a month along with my usual reads, then maybe I’ll come out the other end a better read person. Or maybe I’ll just have read some books I’d never normally read and would never read again. At least…I’m trying?

Anyway! Do you have any recommendations? Feel free to recommend away! (Thank you in advance!)

Leave a Reply

