My 26th Birthday Dinner – Thai Moose Stir Fry

Standard

I turned 26 today. I relocated some lawn gnomes. Ate some crepes. I stayed up way too fricking late last night and was woken up way too fricking early by my parents calling to wish me a happy birthday. Which was awesome. I would have been heartbroken if my dad had let me sleep in. I also had to do my laundry today because I was out of undies and I’d worn everything that I like to wear in my wardrobe at least five times past the normal amount of times you’re allowed to wear something before it’s considered dirty. Plus Sunday’s are laundry days for me. They’re also the days where I cook and clean because I live alone and therefore have to pretend like I’m an adult sometimes.

So because it’s my birthday, I hit up the grocery store while I was doing my laundry and bought my weekly groceries, grabbed a can of baby corn and came home to make myself some Thai Moose Stir Fry. A while back I came across this recipe and thought it looked pretty darn great and I wanted to try it. It was Thai Chicken and Vegetable Stir Fry. I linked it twice just so you know how great I thought this recipe looked to me so that you can go look at it and agree with me. Well after I read the recipe over and over again, I made my bastardized version of it.

My first attempt at Thai Chicken Veggy Stir Fry.

My first attempt at Thai Chicken Veggy Stir Fry.

I made sure that I had all of this stuff:
(If I didn’t have it, I bought it)

  • Rice
  • Ground up chicken
  • Carrots
  • Green peppers
  • Soy Sauce
  • Teriyaki Sauce
  • Olive oil
  • A garlic bulb thing (Of which I used 3 of the section thingys)
  • Onion
  • Lime

This is what I did as I tried to follow the directions to the original recipe:

  1. I grabbed one of my non-stick pots and threw it on the stove and preheated it. While it got hot, I minced 3 of those garlic section thingys. Once the pot was hot, I splashed (Splashed because I don’t like to measure stuff because I don’t own measuring stuff) in a little bit of olive oil and then threw the garlic in there and moved the garlic around until my entire kitchen stunk of cooked garlic.
  2. Once my kitchen stunk of garlic, I tossed in the ground chicken and cooked the heck out of it because I’m terrified of under cooking chicken. In the process of grinding it up, a piece of greasy ground chicken escaped into the element burst into flames. Small flames, but enough flame to jump into the pot and cause a decent sized fire that I smothered. Don’t worry, it helped the browning process.
  3. After the fire was out and the chicken was working on being brown, I chopped up my carrot, green pepper, and onion. I also started the rice making process. Because I can make rice in a pot.
  4. Once the chicken was brown I tossed the veggies into the pot and let them cook a little bit.
  5. While the veggies were cooking a little bit, I squeezed an entire lime over them, stirred them up to get them mixed with the ground chicken and then I splashed that with some soy and teriyaki sauce.
  6. Once everything was cooked to my satisfaction I put a scoop of rice into a bowl and topped it with my chicken/veggie mixture.
  7. Then because I hadn’t bastardized the recipe enough, I put ketchup on it, mixed it all together and ate it happily.
I totally robbed a garden to get all of this.

I totally robbed a garden to get all of this.

Since that first time, I’ve improved upon this recipe of my own. I add sprouts. Tonight because it was my birthday, I also added a whole can of baby corn. I also had red AND green peppers. My sister likes peppers, so for some reason I decided to add a lot of red and green peppers. I think I miss her or something like that. Plus there were carrots and onions like the first time.

Oh, and this time because I have a freezer full of moose meat, including moose mince, I used ground up moose meat. Hencely I made my version of Thai Moose Stir Fry. I don’t think that it was very Thai, but I need to call it something and since I based this off of a recipe called Thai Chicken and Vegetable Stir Fry, I’m calling what I made for my 26th birthday dinner Thai Moose Stir Fry.

I drank it with pink lemonade that I put frozen raspberries in for funsies.

I also still stirred it all together with ketchup in the end. Not that this doesn’t Thai Moose doesn’t taste good without ketchup because it’s pretty darn good on it’s own, but I just like to add ketchup to my food. It makes it better.

 

2 thoughts on “My 26th Birthday Dinner – Thai Moose Stir Fry

  1. Well it sounded like you had a good time. Hope the rest of your Bday went well.

    Also on a side note, your sig (guess that would be what that is) still says 24. đŸ™‚

    <3s

Leave a Reply

