Light Summer Reading

Standard

A little light summer reading perhaps?

As much as I love new books, I’ve just realized (again – I had this realization last summer too) in the past couple of weeks that I literally have over $1000 worth of books in my bedroom. Of course if I sold them all now I would probably barely make $100 off of them, but I have no intention of selling the bulk of my books, so I might as well read them right? Right. So I’ve started rereading all of the books that I have collecting dust in my room. I started off with Kelley Armstrong and then I realized, I haven’t studied crime in a long time so I started looking though my criminology textbooks and found a personal favorite (It’s not a criminology text, just has to do with crime)…

It’s called “A Criminal History of Mankind” and it is so incredibly outdated, but so totally relevant that I love reading it. And rereading it. And rereading it. The first section of the book that I’m currently working my way through is the section on the “motiveless crime”. Basically it talks about how people commit crime so they can be “known” or rather, “make a name for themselves.” It’s not a new phenomenon, this idea of wanting to be famous, but it is an ever increasing pressure, in my opinion, during these modern times. One of the examples given is a young man who sat next to a lady in a theatre and decided that she would be the perfect victim for committing the perfect crime. The next day they met up and he killed her…and then later got caught because he couldn’t keep his perfect crime to himself.

That’s what I’ve been reading. I can’t wait until I get to the part about the guy who turned his house into a murder house. Seriously, this dude had chutes for transporting bodies, different rooms for killing people in different ways and all sorts of morbidly interesting stuff. However, that’s much later in the book so until I get to that part, I’m leaving you with my smoothie recipe because light summer reading requires a nice summer drink to go with it.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup frozen berries (I use the mixed berry mix you find in any store of blackberries, blueberries and raspberries)
  • 1/2 cup fresh raspberries (I’m a freak for raspberries)
  • 1 cup fresh diced pineapple
  • 1 cup juice (your pick, but I use orange juice or cranberry juice)
  • 1/2 cup greek yogurt (pick your flavour but I like strawberry or raspberry)
  • 1 tsp protein powder (this is optional if you want to make this a breakfast drink, I recommend hemp protein since it has the least flavour of all the protein powders)

Instructions:

  • Blend until smooth (It’s a smoothie yeah?)
  • Pour into a big cup or multiple smaller cups
  • Add straws and enjoy (Every enjoyable drink needs to be sipped with a straw in my opinion)

There you have it! Light summer reading (It was either the Criminal History, Harry Potter or Ethical Theories) and a nice summer drink. Do you have anything that you love to do with your summer days?

P.S I hit 100 “Likes” a few days ago so thank you to everyone who reads my blog for hitting the like button!

Leave a Reply

