Day 2.10 – Tops Thursday (Top Experiences)

Standard

In my very brief 25 years on this planet, I have done some fun things, I’ve done some stupid things, I’ve done good people things and lots of other things. A lot of it has been done by a million people a million times before, but there’s probably a reason for that. Common experiences made not so common because it was me doing it and I think everyone should give these shenanigans a try! So this weeks Tops Thursday is all about my Top Experiences that I think you should try! Have a look:

5. Pierce something other than your ears with someone – My first non-ear piercing was my tongue and it was with my Swiss roommate as a bonding thing. It was something new. We ate, then we went and got our tongues pierced and then we shopped for soft food that we could eat for a week. I wound up with a weird and funny lisp and she didn’t and it’s an experience that I’ll always have shared with her. I’m pretty sure that I would never have stabbed a hole in my tongue if she hadn’t gone with me and been so tough about the whole ordeal. With anyone else other than her…yeah, I would have chickened out and not gotten it done. But now? I have a very pretty shiny on my tongue that I love.

One bus trip I spoke through my finger puppet...Captain Finnegan. ARR!!

4. Take the Greyhound somewhere – I’ve been on and off Greyhound 100+ times now and, let me tell you, it can be darn traumatizing. I don’t know whether it’s because I’m traveling alone, because I’m young and female, because that’s just my luck or because it happens to everyone, but I have had some of the most horrifying experiences of my life on a Greyhound. But I’ve also met a few really great people and have had some really memorable moments too! On one of my recent trips home a security guard decided he needed to empty my bag. For those of you who don’t know, I’m an Independent Passion Party Consultant. That means that I sell sensual aids, toys and all sorts of fun stuff. Of course that means this poor security guard pulled a number of dildos, bullets, lubes, lotions, and all sorts of other fun things out of my bag. Poor guy. He turned pinker than my pink vibrator.

3. Dance in the rain – You haven’t yet? Do it! Nothing is more fun than your favorite song, lots of puddles and dancing like no one is around to see you.

2. Do something your parents usually do – My mom has always been in charge of planning family dinners. My dad always checks our fishing gear before we go fishing. It was a whole new experience planning my moms past couple of birthdays, cooking and doing all the things that my momma normally does. It’s actually really eye opening to how hard she works to do amazing things like plan a birthday party or get a special dinner on the table. It’s also proof that I’m really not a great cook and is a great time to spend with my mom because she usually gets fed up trying to tell me what to do and just helps me. On the other hand, I know that I hate fishing without my dad. In all seriousness, this past summer I didn’t miss my dad more than the day I had to go around finding all of our fishing gear, tie our poles into the back of the truck and make sure I had everything. The entire time I was searching our garage and yard for stuff I wanted nothing more than to scream “I want my daddy!” I know that I can go fishing by myself and in the future I’ll probably have to go on my own again, but in the mean time my daddy is in charge of that department.

New Orleans: Home to Mardi Gras and the place I call HEAVEN

1. Travel – Before my first big trip, I’d always made small trips all over my province. The coast for netball, somewhere in the Interior for volleyball and the north for more basketball. Plus more coast trips for softball and more interior trips for rugby. That was always with people I knew and to places where people would probably know my name. That’s not the kind of travel I’m talking about. Yes, travel for sports is butt tons of fun, but traveling somewhere in the world for the sake of discovering a new far off land is two butt tons of fun. Who knew 2 for 1 margarita’s in Mexico would have me sitting on a bar swing for hours talking to all kinds of random strangers who spoke as much English as I did Spanish. It brought a whole new meaning to communicating. Besides learning to communicate, I also learned that it’s really hard to shock my mom after I came home from Mardi Gras and asked her which of my beads she wanted. We call them “Woo Hoo! Beads”…I also learned that no matter how cool the rest of the world is, there’s no place like home. Especially when home has nice mountains to help navigate your way around.

 

One thought on “Day 2.10 – Tops Thursday (Top Experiences)

  1. Riding on the Greyhound isn’t as bad as waiting on that forsaken line to get on. Or if you are not the first stop, the “scaled down” station and ‘check in times’. Gah. I swear I will never do it again.

Leave a Reply

