Day 1.5 – Laugh Out Loud

Standard

Note: I got sick this week and it sucked. I literally slept all day Saturday, Sunday, Monday and Tuesday. Wednesday I almost felt human, but that was because I had to go and write the first part of my midterm for my Intro To Earth Sciences course. Thursday I slept some more and today I feel almost back to normal minus having a sore rib cage from coughing and being super tired. So here I go again…another 7 day challenge!

One of the most important thing that I’ve learned is to let it all out. My mom always yells at people to just “LET IT ALL OUT!” when someone sneezes and she definitely lets it all out when she laughs. If my mom finds something funny, you’re going to know it. When she laughs, she really laughs and most times everyone around her will end up laughing either because whatever she’s laughing at is truly funny or just because her laughter is infectious. It’s one of the things that I try to imitate so that when I laugh, I really really laugh out loud.

As in everyone around me thinks that I’m going to pee my pants laughing because I’m laughing so hard.

One of these times I was living in a basement suite where I had to truck to a nearby shopping centre to do my laundry. There was a Safeway, a seafood restaurant, a Dairy Queen, an ABC restaurant, a clinic, fruit market, cafe and my laundromat. Now this was one of the best laundromats that I’ve ever been in. It was clean and the owners had set up a little area in the back with a couple of couches, a coffee table, a TV with basic cable and tons of magazines. It was a great spot to chill out for a few hours while you did laundry so I would toss in a load of laundry, pick up some groceries and come back to chill on a couch while I finished my laundry. Normally I would bring whatever book I happened to be reading at the time because I refuse to do homework while I’m doing laundry.

This time I was reading “Lamb” by Christopher Moore. It’s a story told from the point of view of Jesus’ best friend, Biff. It’s about Jesus’, or Joshua as was his real name according to Biff, and his life between being born and being killed.

I’m not going to go into too many details because I don’t want to give the book away, but this book is just downright freaking funny. Just think about what would have happened if Jesus was curious about sex, learned Kung Fu, traveled the world as it existed back then and had a best friend who loved women and bacon.

Well, I was reading all of that while doing laundry one day and I was rolling from the laughter. I sitting on the sofa in the back of this laundromat and I was howling with laughter. I mean, not just little giggles here and there, but I was laughing, snorting and I may have even peed and drooled a little bit.

That wouldn’t have been so bad if I had been alone or not in public. But I was. There were at least 8 other people doing their laundry and they were all milling about literally watching their clothes get clean while I was snorting and gasping in laughter. I was laughing so hard at one point I gave myself an asthma attack and the owner came to the back to check on me to make sure that I was ok.

I actually forgot about my laundry and just finished the book and when I had read the last words there was a lady sitting on the other couch staring at me and my book. She just had this look of utter amazement on her face. There was a little worry and confusion there too. I sat up off the couch and blinked at her and waited for her to get past the shock and awe my hyena antics and left splattered across her face.

Finally she spoke, “That sounds like a great book. Do you recommend it?”

I got up and tossed my book into my shoulder bag and replied, “Yeah, Jesus dying always makes me giggle.”

2 thoughts on “Day 1.5 – Laugh Out Loud

Leave a Reply

