Day 9 – Career Counselling Part 1

Standard

I remember this one conversation that I had with my mom very clearly. I was 16, in grade 11 and we were driving home one night from a volleyball practice. Now, at this stage in my life, everything was about basketball and the rest was just details. I was doing 1000 different ab exercises before I went to sleep at night, I was in the gym every spare moment that I could find working on free throws or post work and I’m pretty sure that I went to school somewhere between shooting hoops at lunch time and practices/games after school. I was obsessed and my mom asked me the one question I hadn’t thought about until that point…

“What are you going to do after high school?”

My instant answer was to play basketball. I had plans to leave home and go and play university ball. It would just be like high school, only on a higher level. My mom had other idea. Her answer to my answer was that I couldn’t play basketball for the rest of my life so I had to have something to do after high school.

And my mind went blank. I just sat there and really didn’t have an idea of what I wanted to do. Like I said, life outside of basketball was just details. So my mom and I had that talk. This one was less awkward than the time she tried to talk to me about my period and we arrived at a conclusion…

Me: I don’t know what I want to do, mom.
Mom: Why don’t you be a lawyer? You have that strong useless look about ya.

Of course we laughed at the pretty woman reference, but we both knew it was about as good of an idea as any for me. I loved to argue, I was charismatic and therefore highly persuasive and I was a natural in the public speaking arena . Honestly, I couldn’t think of anything else that I could possibly want to do anyway. At that time, being a lawyer just made darn good sense in my books, so I stuck with that idea like a piece of gum falls out of my mouth while I sleep and then it gets stuck in my hair…then I proceed to roll around in bed just to really mash it in there. From that day forward, I was a lawyer-to-be and nothing was going to stop me.

Leave a Reply

