Day Six – What I read

Standard

I still haven’t figured out where I’m going with this blog thinger. Mostly it’s just fun and something that I’m passionate about and want to share. However, while I figure out a direction that I’m heading both blog-wise and life-wise, I’ll just write about whatever pops into my head. And right now, I’m thinking books. Books, books, books and more books. Why am I thinking books? Well, mostly I’m thinking books because I’m in my bedroom at home and I’m surrounded by books, books, books and more books.

Currently I’m reading “Some Girls: My Life in a Harem” by Jillian Lauren. I’m about halfway through the book and this poor book is dog eared all to Hell and beyond. Not only that but it’s scribbling in the margins, passages highlighted, quotes underlined and I’m sure there is a grocery list or a treasure map hidden in there amongst it all because that’s just how I read good books. I’m honestly not going to talk a lot about this novel…this is neither a review nor a summing up of what I’ve read. This is here just because I’m reading it.

Sadly I forgot to bring it home with me so it’s currently under a blanket on my bed waiting for me to come home and finish it off so it can go back on the shelf with all of its other friends since I like to think the characters of books crawl out of them when you’re not around or while you’re sleeping so they can check out all the other characters from the books.

Which leads me to honestly hope that Voldermort hasn’t crawled out and Avadakedavra‘d anyone.

Speaking of Voldermort…Yes, I’ve read the Harry Potter series and I loved it. I actually sat down and read the last 3 books, “Order of the Phoenix”, “Half Blood Prince” and “The Deathly Hallows” in under a 24 hour period of time. Which isn’t a huge feat for me. On average I can read a 400 page pocket novel (the normal sized novels that novels come in) in about 6 hours. When the “Order of the Phoenix” came out I borrowed it from my younger cousin to read and she wanted it back ASAP so I had to read fast and because of that I actually made sure that I had an entire day free for when I got the other two books. What can I say? Harry Potter and J.K Rowling were that amazing.

What’s even more amazing is the fan fiction that’s come out of these novels. There are hundreds, if not thousands, of fan fiction stories that are kicking about on the internet. I am both pleasantly surprised and disgusted at the amount of stories where Draco Malfoy bones some young miss that he’s fallen in love with. I’m surprised because I thought Malfoy was a fun character and disgusted because of all the simpering blah blah’s that this poor guy has to fornicate with because someone got happy with their pen/keyboard/whatever people write with. On the other hand…some of the stories are really very good.

Besides Harry Potter and Harems, I’ve really come to love reading books that have booze and drugs being tossed about left, right and centre. “Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas” by Hunter S. Thompson has to be one of my all time favorite books. In my world, reading “Fear and Loathing” is just like reading the Harry Potter series because, for me, it’s a world that I can only imagine because I can’t ever be a part of that world or I won’t ever experience similar experiences in my lifetime. Plus once you let this book get a dark grip on you, a lot of it makes sense. I can get lost in Thompson’s books for days. I laugh, I cry, I get scared, my heart races and when I’m come out the other side…I’ve probably changed just a little bit.

Aside from “Fear and Loathing”, some of my other favorite books in the area of drugs and booze are “Junky” by William S. Burroughs, “Trainspotting” by Irvine Welsh, and “John Dies at the End” by David Wong. I’m counting “John Dies at the End” in this area because there is a drug involved and…well, it’s just an intense novel to read. On the other hand, “Junky” was less intense and more involved. I couldn’t put this book down. I actually took it to Mexico with me and spent a goodly amount of time reading on the beach and I wound up taking that book everywhere with me in case I wanted to take a break and just chill out with a good book. Who doesn’t want to sit down in the middle of Mayan ruins and read a book about a junky?

And those books are just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to my collection of books. Lately I’ve been all about reading “I Hope They Server Beer in Hell” and “Assholes Finish First” by Tucker Max (check out his website – once you get past both laughing and being horrified by the things he write, you’ll see why I find his writing inspiring). I also just finished reading “The Dragon Who Loved Me” which was amazing and I’ll probably read it again for good measure. Then mixed in with all of that is Sherilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunter Series, Kresley Cole’s Immortals After Dark Series, Gena Showalter’s Lords of the Underwold Series, anything written by Tamora Pierce, a whole lot of Kelley Armstrong, “A Confederacy of Dunces” by John Kennedy Toole, Anne Rice’s Vampire Chronicles, my old Criminology text books and an autobiography by Ron Jeremy. Plus another 900-odd books scattered all over my room.

What’s on your bookshelves? Anything I can add to mine?

3 thoughts on “Day Six – What I read

  1. You might consider spending twenty minutes (that’s speedy!) reading the newly-released title: “What To Do When The Earth Splits In Two”, which is all about what we do, and not what we think, read, or say.

    Whether Mother Earth actually comes through with her reaction, it gives me pause to think before I act.

    Take the “Free Read” option at http://www.carlfrederick.org

Leave a Reply

